Allen James

Icon

A Glimpse of What Is to Come…

Jeremiah, the prophet, had a challenging task. He was essentially called to proclaim a message of what was to come to a group of people who would really never get it. I have been reading through Jeremiah recently. It’s really a challenge! But tonight, the Lord allowed me a glimpse of what is to come.

Jeremiah 31:13 reads, “Then maidens will dance and be glad, young men and old as well. I will turn their mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.”

Nova and I had the privilege of attending the wedding of Sarah Speer and Tom Novlan this evening. Beautiful simplicity! I LOVE weddings. Where the Lord provided this “glimpse” was in the place I least expected it… the reception. First of all, we drove into the parking lot of the Four Seasons and there was parked an amazing mazerati. WOW! Is that a preacher’s car?

As the reception began and the bride and groom entered and they cherished their first dance.  It was precious. The bride then danced with her father. Another great moment… and this dad could dance too! The God moment came when the bride led her grandfather (who suffered a stroke a few weeks ago) onto the dance floor and they savored a precious moment together. It was one of the sweetest moments I have witnessed in some time. His smile will be etched in my memory for weeks to come as this proud grandfather danced with his grandaughter.

I know people have different thoughts on weddings… but many say there is something spiritual about a wedding (I AGREE!). But tonight, I had the distinct privilege to witness what it will be like when Jesus returns for His children and the maidens will dance and be glad, young men and old as well.

Filed under: Spiritual Life

Leave a comment

Pages

Archives